Joe Webb

I love Joe Webb’s work. His composition is so provocative and effective. I appreciate the time he takes over a single collage, understanding the power of imagery in this art form. Some are very simple and composed of two images, but it’s the relationship of these combined images that makes his work so successful. I love the dark humour present in each collage. There are obvious underlying messages here that are particularly political at times, but they’re done in such a way that one maintains a lightheartedness towards them. He’s managed to achieve the exact attitude i’m aiming for with my own collages. I feel that this medium has been most successful to portray my theme, due to this balance of provocative composition and playful images. They don’t have to be overloaded, they can be simple and effective. Webb’s work has really helped me develop my own practice and gauge a clearer understanding of the appropriate temper i wanted to strike in my work.


2 Comments on “Joe Webb”

  1. […] Peter Callesen: https://kairoscinco.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/joe-webb/ […]

  2. […] Joe Webb: https://kairoscinco.wordpress.com/2016/04/13/joe-webb/ […]


Leave a comment