Start of Collage

 

After my last assessment, it was clear that i needed to clarify exactly what direction i wanted to take my work in. I had all the elements of a good idea but no real sense of how to approach it. i found that last year my most successful work was my collages, so i decided to go back to that and start working through ideas via this technique. Reading essays into death in a modern western culture and listening to lectures by Alan Watts, i came across the concept of death being this presence of absence. That within the nothingness we perceive as death, comes all life itself. We return to a life that we can only experience now sensually, but when we die, we become a part of the world in the form of various energies and we merge into the landscape. I really like this idea and conflict between the presence and absence of life and death. That the mental presence is gone but the physical still remains, however you have evolved and become something other, something greater than that. This way of working has really helped me shift my work into a direction i think could be the most appropriate attitude in regards to my theme.


2 Comments on “Start of Collage”

  1. […] Start of Collage: https://kairoscinco.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/start-of-collage/ […]


Leave a comment